MY BIRTHDAY SPEECH

Good evening ladies and gentlemen. I sincerely appreciate the good will messages I received (and still receiving) from you all as I mark my birthday today. My earnest gratitude goes to those who called (including those that remembered but couldn’t call); posted on my Facebook timeline and those that messaged me. It will also be unfair of me to forget Google, as it changed its homepage logo to that of birthday cakes (in pictures), coupled with a “Hapi birthday” (Yes, in Pidgin) message to mark my day as I logged in.

 

Its disappointing that today of all days none of my friends came to party with me, as there was no party. But I’ve gat something yummy for you. Go grab a pack of biscuit (biscuit? lol) or any Snack, and a bottle of mineral. Enjoy it as you read this. Lol…….

 

Besides wishing me good luck, long life and prosperity (Like sey, if I too prosper, your body no go hot. Some people fit get birthday three times a year…..ha-ha), some of you would have love to hear me talk about my childhood days – the days I roam the streets barefooted, even when I had five sandals at home; the days I like running after insects, knowing very well that I have no chance of catching them; the days I speak to insects, telling them to buy me bread and to tell my father that he should bring more chicken meat when next he is coming.

 

I know you would have loved to hear about how I and my friends use our mouth to sip from the tap or how we rode round the community with abandoned tires. I wouldn’t have forgotten the first day I met Father Christmas (Santa Claus. He was dark though), it was also the first day I rode on a horse; I’ll never forget that day.

 

As it is, there was no party and thank God I was spared from the claws of answering embarrassing and funny questions. So, I now can speak (in this case, write) freely.

 

It is common knowledge that the whole world is facing the brutal and unjust acts of terrorism and Nigeria is no exception. Thousands of people have lost their loved ones. Orphans and widows have been made out of this whole madness. Husbands have lost their beloved wives, and mothers their heart held children. People die everyday, and it’s no longer strange to look the other side and move on.

 

Even as you read this, it is likely that the next page you are going read will have a title like this: “Dozens killed by boko haram in northern Nigeria” or “Bomb blast kills 50 in Kenya”. The pace at which these terrorists are expanding their attacks is scary, and if nothing is done to stop them soon, they will start dreaming of taking over the whole world.

 

The government in Nigeria has failed to live to expectations, giving boko haram the hand to kill anybody when it feels like doing so. We all are at the mercy of these villains, so it is necessary that we take all measures at our disposal to protect our lives, neighbors and properties.

 

Is your church or mosque secured? Is it fenced? Is there security light around the environment, for vision at night? Does your place of worship have a watch man? What about CCTV camera’s?

 

The above questions should apply to your place of work, your children’s school and your house. Take a stop before you enter that bus and shopping mall. It’s better while you can, negligence will cost you more than you can ever imagine. Security starts with you and your house.

 

Thanks, for your time. I appreciate all your calls (though my phone was off, due to some unforeseen positive events) and messages. God bless you all.

4 thoughts on “MY BIRTHDAY SPEECH

Add a comment

